18 November 2022 |

Genero Adran Trophy | Round of 16 preview

2022-09-25 Wrexham AFC Women vs Llanfair United Ladies 77.JPG

The round of 16 in the Genero Adran Trophy takes place on Sunday, with the Genero Adran Premier clubs entering the competition as seeded teams against the sides who progressed from the group stage. 

Perhaps the most interesting clash comes at The Old Road, where Genero Adran South leaders host Genero Adran Premier table-toppers Cardiff City, who are yet to lose a game this season. In fact, the Bluebirds’ last defeat came in the final of this competition last term against Cardiff Met. 

Wrexham are the Genero Adran North leaders and will host Genero Adran Premier strugglers Abergavenny after topping their group. Steve Dale’s side have already beaten top-flight opposition this season as they knocked The New Saints out of the Women’s Welsh Cup. 

Reigning Genero Adran Trophy champions Cardiff Met visit Rhyl 1879, who progressed from the group stage in dramatic style by winning 5-4 against Llanfair United. 

Tier three side Cardiff Wanderers are the only wildcard outfit left in the competition and they host last year’s beaten semi-finalists Aberystwyth Town. 

Meanwhile, The New Saints - the other beaten semi-finalists from last season – make the trip to Cascade, who did not concede a goal in any of their three group fixtures. 

Current Genero Adran Premier champions Swansea City welcome Llandudno of the Genero Adran North. The Seasiders rounded off the group stage with a 4-0 win against Airbus. 

Another Genero Adran North side who are making the trip south are Connah’s Quay Nomads, who scored a stunning 18 goals as they took maximum points from their three group games. Jordan Parry’s team visit Barry Town United. 

Finally, there is an all-south based tie which sees Pontypridd United host Swansea University.  

Genero Adran Trophy round of 16 fixtures

Barry Town United v Connah’s Quay Nomads
Swansea City v Llandudno
Wrexham v Abergavenny
Briton Ferry Llansawel v Cardiff City
Pontypridd United v Swansea University
Rhyl 1879 v Cardiff Met
Pontardawe Town or Cardiff Wanderers v Aberystwyth Town
Cascade YC v The New Saints